Don't Think, Just Write

A Man's Journey

I Thought About You Today

image

This whole blogging thing has been a lesson in stepping out of my writing comfort zone. This piece is a HUGE step…

I thought about you today
It was before I opened my eyes
before the sun opened his
Rain tapped the bedroom window
like bored fingers on a kitchen table

I thought about you today
I thought about the first time I saw you smile
Your lips broke open revealing the warmth inside

I thought about you today
The subtle way that you flattered me
Your words perfectly not chosen
I wonder if my words touched your ears the way yours touched mine
How could one ever know

I thought about you today
Everything you gave me
Your friendship your thoughts and your feelings
I put it all in a safe basket and still carry it with me
The basket is heavy and it pulls on the bottom of my heart
It aches for you because its been filled by you
Then it smiles

I thought about you today
Erotically passionately humorously 

I thought about you today
I heard that song
The one with that perfect lyric

I thought about you today
The same as I thought about you yesterday

As I asked of you before, tell me what worked, what didn’t, what made and didn’t make any fucking sense, and what one word you would change to make it better. I love any feedback, especially feedback on how I can improve. 

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “I Thought About You Today

  1. this is lovely, so easy and passionate like its subject…

  2. Beautiful. Sincere. This is a great piece

  3. Great stuff like always, enjoyed it very much 🙂

  4. Such sweet and painful words. You write poetry well. Xo

  5. Gorgeous, just gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

